Overview Curriculum & Progression Learning Support Stay and Play Useful Links Gallery


Planning and teaching is based on The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.

This is split into seven areas of learning, aiming to achieve the seventeen Early Learning Goals by the Summer Term in Reception.

Three Prime Areas:

Communication and Language

  • Listening and Attention and Understanding
  • Speaking

Personal, Social and Emotional

  • Self-Regulation
  • Managing Self
  • Building Relationships

Physical Development

  • Gross Motor Skills
  • Fine Motor Skills

Four Specific Areas:


  • Comprehension
  • Word Reading
  • Writing


  • Number
  • Numerical Patterns

Understanding the World

  • Past and Present
  • People, Culture and Communities
  • The Natural World

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Creating with Materials
  • Being Imaginative and Expressive


Our curriculum is engaging, creative and provides opportunities for children to develop curiosity, knowledge, skills and independence. We take into consideration each child’s needs, stage of development and interests to enable them to achieve the early learning goals across the seven areas of learning – both the Prime and Specific.

Planning for reading is supplemented with RWI

Planning for Maths is based on White Rose Maths

Little Languages is used to develop Spanish